top of page
Search
  • nicolacox4

What’s your favourite song?

I spend lots of time asking people what their favourite song is? But it’s a tricky question isn’t it? What is your favourite song?


Mine changes all the time. I listen to a huge variety or music and love most tunes. I have favourite songs for when I feel happy. Different songs for when I feel sad. Music I love to dance to or reminisce too and music that reminds me of different people in my life. Sometimes other people share their favourite songs and I suddenly remember how much I love that song too. Sometimes I love the words, other times I choose songs that are fun to sing.


So I don’t really have a favourite song. I think I'd find it impossible to choose just one.


I was thinking about this when I was at my cousins wedding at the weekend. She and her new husband had Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You as their first dance number. This Frankie Vallie classic is often on my playlist and I thought it was a wonderful choice for a first dance. Some first dance numbers we've seen over the years have been much more sentimental choices, slower more intimate ballads, some have been larger performative numbers but all had their own merit to the couple sharing that moment. At my wedding we chose Queens You're My Best Friend which represented our playful fun relationship (and I love of a bit of Queen!)


And I wonder if we collectively have a favourite song as a nation? You often get lists of most popular songs - from the weekly Top 40 on the radio to huge lists of songs that have been the most popular in the past 100 years.


In 2021 the Express newspaper published an article about the country’s favourite songs. The article said that the Top 500 most beloved songs of all time were determined by the Great British public. While Queen's powerful anthem Bohemian Rhapsody typically claims the top spot, it was pushed down one position by something more tender and poignant. The article said that we, as a nation, have a soft spot for nostalgia and with over 75,000 votes cast the top spot was awarded to George Michaels Careless Whisper.


The timeless ballad has also garnered an impressive four million global streams.


With Queen taking the second spot, it was revealed that Michael Jackson's "Man In The Mirror" secured the third spot while "Billie Jean" claimed fifth place. Additionally, George Michael continued to shine with his hit "A Different Corner" securing fourth place on the list.


What do you think of the top 5? Do you love those songs? Or even know them at all? Would you have voted for those songs or something completely different. And it makes me wonder if a favourite song isn't just extremely personal and may not be a song you want to share with everyone. Maybe you have songs chosen for your next party or wedding or even for your funeral? Do the songs make you smile or do they represent you personally in some way?


Do you have one all time favourite? Do you have one song that gets you on the dance floor and a different one that makes your heart melt? Has it always been the same or has it changed over time?


Let me know in the comments!



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page